Maine… Popping in for Popovers at Jordan Pond House

Pull off Acadia National Park’s loop road at the Jordan Pond House and you might find a packed parking lot and tour buses.  Don’t let that scare you.  If you’re patient, you’ll find a space.  It’s worth it.  

The Jordan Pond House is a “two-fer” stop — one for your stomach and two for your eyes.  It’s famous for its popovers, which are served warm.  (If you order two, for instance, they’ll bring you one hot popover and wait until you’re finished before bringing the second one, so that’s hot, too.)  

If you’ve never had a popover, you’re missing out!  Open it up.  (They puff up and are hollow inside.)  Slop on some butter.  Pile on some strawberry jam.  And you have yourself a hot, buttery, sweet treat.  (Be warned!  It’s been months and I still crave them.  I’ve been considering buying a popover pan and trying one of the Jordan Pond House popover recipes that I’ve found online.  But without the view, it might not be the same.)  

The Jordan Pond House in Acadia National Park is famous for its popovers, shown here with a bowl of their tomato soup.

The view is awesome at the Jordan Pond House, looking over Jordan Pond, which was formed by a giant ice sheet during the last ice age.  If it’s nice out, you can eat outside on the lawn.  They day I was there, it seemed a bit chilly to sit out, even though I saw some folks with short-sleeved shirts.  (What can I say?  I’m a wimpy native Southern Californian!)  

You can eat your popovers outside on the lawn at the Jordan Pond House.

But once you’re done, there’s still some exploring to do.  Be sure to head down to the water on the short, well-marked and well-graded path down to the pond.  

  

I find the rocks and reeds here to be mesmerizing.  

  

The water’s a bit chilly, but it would be fun to kayak.  (I did my kayaking out on the ocean, not here. )  

  

You can continue on and take a roughly three-mile loop around the pond.  (That hike is rated as easy on the east side with some tough sections on the west side in “A Walk in the Park: Acadia’s Hiking Guide” by Tom St. Germain.)  

I was off to see the rest of the park by car and had already taken a hike earlier in the day, so I didn’t have time to do this one.  But I’d love to come back and check it out!  

If you’ve hiked around Jordan Pond, what did you think?  Would you recommend it?  Or did you like other hikes in Acadia better?  

  

Bookmark and Share

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment